Recommendation for a Power Distribution Unit/Fuse Block for a Gen 4 Honda VFRSubscribe to this blog RSS Feed
    You must be logged in and belong to this group to post to this forum.
    1 of 7
    ryan647
    3 years ago
    I am looking for some recommendations and some info from direct experience and usage of a power distribution unit/fuse box.  I'd like to be able to use some electric clothing and eventually a GPS on the bike and would like to have some sort of fused power distribution device to which I connect all of these doodads.

There seem to be a ton of different options out there ranging from under $100 to $400 dollars.  I have no experience with such a device so not sure what to look for and what would be a good option for my use case.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
    2 of 7
    Yermo
    3 years ago
    Does this work? 

Link #163241
    Yermo
    3 years ago

Rowe Electronics PDM60 Power Distribution Module - RevZilla

Shop RevZilla for your Rowe Electronics PDM60 Power Distribution Module today! Free Shipping, Lowest Price Guaranteed & Top of the Line Expert Service.

https://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle...
    3 of 7
    With both battery tenders and electric clothing I wire direct to the battery. I've done GPS units both ways, I think it's better to use a key controlled circuit as the GPS units can put a slow draw on the battery to keep the unit charged. I'm not familiar with the VFR but a quick google of the electrical system urges caution. 
    4 of 7
    Yermo
    3 years ago
    PlushParu, possibly aligned with your interests.
    5 of 7
    Yun Lung Yang
    3 years ago
    The 100-400 dollar distribution block is very very expensive "tailor" product for something you can build for 35 dollars. 

Amazon.com: Blue Sea Systems 5045 Fuse Block St Blade Mini 4 Cir-: Automotive

and any automotive relay 40 amp will more than suffice. You can go with a waterproof relay, but those relay are larger.