New Member and Like the ConceptSubscribe to this blog RSS Feed
    You must be logged in and belong to this group to post to this forum.
    1 of 14
    Lanval
    4 years ago
    Hey,

I like the fact you are using openstreetmaps, and I can build and share routes.  I have been following an ADVRider thread about a mil spec phone to use as a GPS, along with Osmand, which also uses openstreetmaps.  Bought the phone off Swappa for $74 and now I have a route builder, I hope to have no compatibility problems with routing using different maps.

Please understand that I'm new to this GPS routing stuff, so might not be correct in my above statement.

This site also saves from having to use google maps, and then put it through a website to get a GPX.  So I'm looking forward to collecting some great rides and also contributing.

All the best.
    2 of 14
    Lanval
    4 years ago
    Let me also add that I have already made my first route.  If you are interested in riding beautiful scenery and some curves, head to AR and here is a nice 60mile hour twenty loop.

https://miles-by-motorcycle.com/71896/maps/71899/hwy-9-...
    3 of 14
    Yermo
    4 years ago
    Excellent. Thank you! And welcome.

I'm actively developing the site. I wrote all the software here and am working on an off-line mobile app (where you can download the Openstreet map data on your phone and see your routes even if there's no cell service). It's coming along but it's all taking so much longer than I ever imagined.

If for whatever reason the GPX files that you export from here don't work on whatever device, please let me know. I wrote that code as well and if it doesn't work I can most likely fix it so that it does. 

Thanks for the route!

The next time I'm in AR I'll check out your route. I've tagged it (for myself) with Route_to_Scout so I'll remember (because it'll be a while before I'm out that way again.)