Suzuki GSF600S Bandit S Tech ThreadSubscribe to this blog RSS Feed
    You must be logged in and belong to this group to post to this forum.
    1 of 94
    Yermo
    10 years ago
    Starting a thread on the Suzuki GSF600S (a.k.a. Bandit S) which  Ben Mendis recently bought. 

As mentioned on Facebook, I took it for a test ride and the bike stalled on me about 1.5 miles from the house and would not restart. 

I pushed the bike under a shade tree after a few minutes of trying to get it started. After a little while a man walked up and introduced himself. I started telling him what I was up when I turned away. He interrupted saying he was deaf. Interesting. He spoke and read lips near perfectly.

"I'm a Suzuki mechanic and I bet your crank case is over full." We had picked up the bike from the seller but and checked the sight glass but the idea the crank could be overfull is something I would never have considered. "I see it all the time." he said, "they 'change' the oil by adding 4 quarts without draining the old out. My van is just up there, why don't you push the bike over and we'll pull some out with my pump."

I did as the man suggested and we proceeded to pull over 1.5 qts of fluid out of the crank before it became visible in the sight glass. The bike started up almost immediately there after. This is something I did not know, that an overfull crank case would prevent the bike from running. Apparently it builds up too much pressure and fluid gets by the rings fouling the plugs.

We ran the bike for a moment. He put his fingers on the handle bar to "hear" the motor. "Running a bit rough. There's a stumble. It's been sitting for a long time, no?" he asked. "The carbs are probably dirty. With as clean as the bike is we can probably get away with just pulling the bowls and cleaning the jets. If you've got time why don't you follow me and we'll take care of it."