2013 BMW R1200GSSubscribe to this blog RSS Feed
    You must be logged in and belong to this group to post to this forum.
    1 of 2
    sharriman
    10 years ago
    Thursday I took delivery of my new GS. When I first started riding at the age of 30 (a bit of a late bloomer) I bought a Kawasaki KLR 650 a great all around starter bike, also easily could be used for long distance touring, I put about 20000 miles on the KLR. Eight years ago I bought a Kawasaki ZZR 1200 after my first ride on that I didn't touch the KLR for a year until I decided to sell it. The ZZR I have put just under 60000 miles on.
    Long before I started riding, one bike has always had my interest the BMW GS. 
    First impressions: 
    The bike full of fuel ready to go weighs as much as my ZZR's dry weight. It is extremely well engineered. If you want something to be perfect make sure a German designs, tests and builds it,... unless it's a watch let the Swiss do that. This is the first bike I have ever put up on the center stand with one hand on the handle bar and my right foot with ease, you do not have to use your right hand at all. 
     First riding impressions: